Photograph of Buck Jones holding the first Catalina trophy won by his yacht, The Satartha.Donated by Mrs. Buck Jones. Autry Museum; 91.131.14

The Butcher Scholar Award

Established in 2001, the Butcher Scholar Award provides up to $5,000 to support innovative projects that promise to deepen our understanding of the history of diverse women in the historical and contemporary American West. Honoring the vision, leadership, and generosity of Jane and Charlie Butcher, the Award has supported public historians, academic scholars, writers, and artists. Originally offered by the Women of the West Museum, the Award has been presented by the Autry since 2002, when the Autry merged with the Women of the West Museum.

The Maverick Prize

The Autry's Maverick Prize recognizes the work of an individual or organization that challenges conventional wisdom and prompts truly novel thinking about the past, present, and future of the American West. The winner of this prize receives $10,000 and an invitation to present the work at the Autry.

Previous Winners

Maverick Prize I: Malpai Borderlands Group
The Malpai Borderlands Group is a nonprofit organization led by ranchers who live and work primarily in Southeast Arizona and Southwest New Mexico. Its goal is to restore and maintain the natural processes that create and protect a healthy, unfragmented landscape to support a diverse, flourishing community of human, plant, and animal life in the borderlands region.

Maverick Prize II: Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation (AIISF)
AIISF is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote a greater understanding of Pacific Coast immigration and its role in shaping America's past, present, and future.

Nominations for Maverick Prize III are closed.

For additional information, please contact

The Autry Public History Prize

The Autry Public History Prize is awarded annually by the Western History Association to media, exhibits, public programs, or written works that contribute to a broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or serve as a model of professional public history practice in the history of the North American West. The award consists of a $1,000 prize and a certificate to the award recipient. For more information, please visit the Western History Association.