Theatre Staff

Native Voices at the Autry

Randy Reinholz (Choctaw) / Producing Artistic Director and Co-creator of Native Voices at the Autry

Randy Reinholz (Choctaw) is a founder and the Producing Artistic Director of Native Voices at the Autry. He has directed more than 50 plays in the United States, Australia, and Canada, including The Rez Sisters, The Waiting Room, Proof, How I Learned to Drive, Hedda Gabler, Speed the Plow, The Cherry Orchard, Desire Under the Elms, The Glass Menagerie, and numerous productions of Shakespeare’s plays. For Native Voices at the Autry, he directed and produced Urban Tattoo and the Equity productions of Jump Kiss; Stone Heart; The Red Road; The Buz’Gem Blues; The Berlin Blues; Wings of Night Sky, Wings of Morning Light; Carbon Black; and Please Do Not Touch the Indians and executive produced Kino & Teresa, SUPER INDIAN, Teaching Disco Square Dancing to Our Elders, Salvage, Tales of an Urban Indian, The Frybread Queen, Walking on Turtle Island, and Ghostlands of an Urban NDN. He is co-founder and producer for the Native Radio Theater Project, collaboration between Native Voices and Native American Public Telecommunications. He received a BA from William Jewell College and an MFA from Cornell University. He is on the National Advisory Board for the Last Frontier Theatre Conference, the Advisory Committee for the Native Theater Festival at New York’s Public Theater, and the Board of Trustees for the National Theatre Conference. He is a tenured professor in the Department of Theatre and on faculty for American Indian studies at San Diego State University (SDSU). In 2007, after ten years as the Head of Acting, he was named the Director of the School of Theatre, Television, and Film at SDSU. In 2012 he was named Director of Community Engagement and Innovative Programs for the College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts at SDSU.



Jean Bruce Scott / Producing Executive Director and Co-creator of Native Voices at the Autry

Jean Bruce Scott is a founder and the Producing Executive Director of Native Voices at the Autry. She has spent 19 years developing new plays, including more than 150 by Native American playwrights. At Native Voices, she has produced 19 New Play Festivals; 9 Playwrights Retreats; more than 150 play readings; and 22 new plays, including The Baby Blues; Jump Kiss; Stone Heart; The Red Road; The Buz’Gem Blues; The Berlin Blues; Please Do Not Touch the Indians; Kino & Teresa; SUPER INDIAN; Teaching Disco Square Dancing to Our Elders; Salvage; Carbon Black; Now Look What You Made Me Do; Urban Tattoo; Wings of Night Sky, Wings of Morning Light; Tales of an Urban Indian; The Frybread Queen; Walking On Turtle Island; and Ghostlands of an Urban NDN. She is co-founder of the Native Radio Theater Project, a collaboration between Native Voices at the Autry and Native American Public Telecommunications, which produces radio plays, including The Best Place to Grow Pumpkins, Melba’s Medicine, Why Opossum’s Tail Is Bare, The Peach Seed, SUPER INDIAN, The Red Road, and Raven’s Radio Hour. Her illustrious background includes extensive theatre credits, as well as serving as president of Sine Bahn Productions, an independent production company noted for developing screenplays, teleplays, and stage plays. Familiar for numerous lead and recurring acting roles on Days of Our Lives; Magnum, P.I.; Port Charles; Newhart; Matlock; Airwolf; and St. Elsewhere, she has guest-starred on a multitude of other series and television movies. She is a past member of the L.A. Board of Directors for AFTRA and currently serves on the SAG Local Hollywood American Indian Committee and the National Advisory Board for the Last Frontier Theatre Conference.

Native Voices at the Autry Advisory Council Members

David Burton is the board chair of City Garage, a theatre company in Santa Monica specializing in contemporary European and American plays as well as original company work.  He also serves on the board of Arts for LA, an organization that advocates for public engagement and diverse investment in the arts as key components in creating healthy, vibrant communities. He previously served as the Senior Director of the Autry’s Institute for the Study of the American West and Managing Director of Native Voices at the Autry.

Tonantzín Carmelo (Gabrielino Tongva, Mexica) is an award-winning actress and a Screen Actors Guild nominee for her lead role in Steven Spielberg’s miniseries Into the West. Her numerous theatre, television, and film credits including Imprint, a supernatural thriller produced by Chris Eyre and Linn Productions.

Duane Champagne (Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa) is Professor of Sociology at UCLA and from 1991 to 2002 was director of the university’s American Indian Studies Center. Professor Champagne has authored or edited over 100 publications and was editor of the American Indian Culture and Research Journal from 1986 to 2003.

José Cruz González is a playwright, director, and Professor of Theatre at CSU Los Angeles. He  has written for PAZ, the Emmy Award–nominated television series produced by Discovery Kids for the Learning Channel and was a recipient of a 2004 TCG/Pew National Theatre Residency grant. He is a member of the Dramatists Guild of America, TYA/USA, and an Associate Artist with Cornerstone Theater Company and Childsplay. 

Scott Kratz is currently Vice President for Education at the National Building Museum, leading the Public Programs and Youth Education departments. He served as Director of Programs at the Autry National Center from 1999 to 2005, overseeing the development of Native Voices at the Autry and serving as producer or associate producer for its Equity productions.

Oliver Mayer is an internationally produced playwright and Assistant Professor of Dramatic Writing at USC School of Theatre. He is the author of numerous plays, including Joe Louis Blues, produced at the Tiffany Theaters and LATC in Los Angeles, and Blade to the Heat, which has been performed in acclaimed productions around the world.

Bill Partlan is Associate Professor, Directing, at Arizona State University and the artistic director of Triple Espresso LLC in Minneapolis. He has directed for National Public Radio’s Earplay series and is known for his work with new plays and playwrights including Alan Ball, Lee Blessing, and John Patrick Shanley.

Kalani Queypo (Blackfeet, Hawaiian) is an actor, writer, director, and producer. His acting includes roles in the Oscar-nominated film The New World and the Emmy Award–winning miniseries Into the West. He has written and directed his first short film, Ancestor Eyes, which has won the following Awards: RIIFF, AOF, 2nd Place at TRMF, and the IF USA, Indie Fest USA.

Paula Starr is Executive Director of the Southern California Indian Center. An enrolled member in the Southern Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes, she has experience as a professional educator with a background in theatre.

Marjorie Tanin (Tewa, Hopi, and Kiowa) is an actor, a casting/technical advisor, and a consultant on television programs and feature films dealing with Indigenous subjects. She is former co-chair of the Native American Subcommittee of the Screen Actors Guild.

Media Sponsor

Native Voice is Sponsored By